Last Night’s Dessert–Gluten Free “Chess Squares”

Image

This recipe was posted from http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/chess-squares.html
Kevin and Amanda’s blog that was featured on Pinterest

 

Last night I wanted to make something special for my hubby, because I am going to be out of town next week, so I fired up the old computer, called up Pinterest and clicked on the first recipe that caught my eye.  I loved the fact that these bars were simple to make, used a vanilla cake mix, which, in my pantry will be gluten free, since I have celiac disease, and I liked the name.

In Texas, when I was a teen, living in the country and cooking for my mom, dad and brother on a Sat. night, instead of “cruising the drag” with the other high school kids, I became quite skilled at making chess pie.  It is a basic custard pie with a distinctive flavor.  These bars taste quite similar, but they have a cake mix crust and a vanilla/cream cheese flavor.

To make this recipe gluten free, substitute the vanilla cake mix for  a Duncan Hines gluten free vanilla mix, and make sure to buy gluten free vanilla.

We loved the crunchiness of the cake mix “crust”, so I think I will doctor it a bit at Christmas time, adding cherry pie filling or nuts to make the recipe more festive.

On a 5  🙂 scale I would give this Pinterest repin a 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂  Worth the download!

Thanks Amanda and Kevin

http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/chess-squares.html

Leave a comment